header image
Quinte Conservation Welcomes New Board Members

Quinte Conservation welcomed 13 new board members at its meeting last Thursday. New members were appointed by its 18 member municipalities after the election last fall. Officers of the board were also selected at this inaugural meeting. The new board ratified the budget of almost $4 million for 2015.

The Quinte Conservation Executive board is made up of three Watershed Advisory Boards; Moira River, Napanee Region and Prince Edward Region. City of Belleville Councillor Jackie Denyes will be chair of the Executive Board for 2015 and 2016.

Outgoing board members were recognized for their years of service:

  • Rita Cimprich (Marmora and Lake Municipality)
  • Egerton Boyce (City of Belleville)
  • Tom Lafferty (City of Belleville)
  • Terry Cassidy (City of Quinte West)
  • Justin Bray (Municipality of Tweed)
  • Robert Sager (Township of Madoc)
  • Iain Gardiner (Tyendinaga Township)
  • Edgar Tumak (Town of Deseronto)
  • Heather Fox (Central Frontenac Township)
  • Barb Proctor (County of Prince Edward)
  • John Drechsler (County of Prince Edward)
  • George Underhill (County of Prince Edward)
  • John Thompson (County of Prince Edward)

General Manager Terry Murphy says, “We have been pleased to work with all of the outgoing members of our board over the last several years. We have accomplished many projects such as the Big Island Marsh Restoration, creation of an accessible trail, and the McLeod Dam Green Energy Hydro Project. We are looking forward to many more successful projects as we welcome our new members on board. With the passing of the budget at this meeting it’s a good start for 2015. This is going to be a busy year for Quinte Conservation with work on dams throughout the watershed as well as many education and outreach programs.”

Durring the inaugural 2015 meeting several Quinte Conservation staff members were recognized for their years of service at the local environmental organization:

  • David Smallwood, Forestry and Field Operations Manager – 25 years of service
  • Amy Dickens, GIS Database Specialist – 10 years of service
  • Mark Boone, Hydrogeologist – 10 years of service
  • Brad McNevin, Fisheries Biologist and Regulations Officer – 10 years of service
  • Mary Gunning, Environmental Technician – 5 years of service

Quinte Conservation is a community-based environmental protection agency. It serves 18 municipalities in the watersheds of the Moira, Napanee and Salmon Rivers and Prince Edward County. It provides cost-effective environmental expertise and leadership. Quinte Conservation’s main goal is to create a sustainable ecosystem where people and nature live in harmony.

For more information:
Jennifer May-Anderson
Jennifer May-Anderson
Communications Manager
(613) 968-3434 ext. 125
(613) 354-3312 ext. 125

News Menu
News Archive
© Quinte Conservation 2004 - 2013 Download Adobe Reader